Constitution and By-Laws For the South Carolina Mosquito Control Association, Inc

As amended November 1980, 1988, 1989, 1991, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007

- I. Name: The name shall be the South Carolina Mosquito Control Association, Inc.
- II. Purpose: The purpose of this association is to promote mosquito control in South Carolina; to maintain public interest in mosquito control; to keep up with the latest developments in control methods; to disseminate information concerning mosquitoes to its membership and the general public through publications and meetings; and to unite and coordinate common interest and efforts.
- III. Classes of membership: There shall be four classes of membership namely:
 - Section 1. Active member all persons who are professionally engaged in any branch of mosquito control work, and persons interested in the course of mosquito control who desire affiliation with this association, shall be eligible for active membership.
 - Section 2. Lifetime active member Active members who retire from active mosquito control work but still wish to take an active interest in the South Carolina Mosquito Control Association, Inc. and have been active members of this association for five or more years immediately prior to retirement may be awarded this class of membership by the board of directors.
 - Section 3. Honorary Member Nominees for honorary membership shall be submitted to the membership committee in the form of a petition signed by no less than ten active members of the association and upon recommendation of the membership committee and final confirmation of the board of directors and vote of two-thirds of the members present at any annual meeting become a member of this class. Honorary membership may be conferred upon any person for distinguished achievement or service.
 - Section 4. Sustaining membership subject to the recommendation of the membership committee and final confirmation of the Board of Directors, any person or firm who is interested in the promotion of the field of mosquito control, upon payment of dues herein provided, may become a sustaining member. This class membership qualifies the member for a free display area at the annual meeting and a listing in all publications. This class membership is entitled to one active membership and one vote.
- IV. Dues: Annual dues per calendar year shall be as follows:

1.	Active Membership	\$10.00
2.	Lifetime Membership	\$0.00
3.	Honorary Membership	\$0.00
4.	Sustaining Membership	\$150.00

Dues shall be payable on September 1 of each year and delinquent after January 1 if not paid. Anyone joining after September 1 automatically becomes a member for the following year. If anyone joins after six months in a current year, then he has a choice to join for the current year or the proceeding year. These annual dues entitle a member to a one year membership.

V. Election of officers and directors:

- Section 1. The officers and directors of the Association shall consist of a President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer (the Secretary/Treasurer may not serve more than three (3) consecutive terms), three (3) Regional Directors, one (1) Director at Large (the Director at Large shall be elected by and from the Sustaining (Commercial) Membership), and the immediate Past President, who shall serve as a Director (Exofficio).
- Section 2. The officers and Director at Large shall be elected by printed ballot as follows:
 - A. Printed ballots shall be mailed by the Secretary/Treasurer to all members at least thirty (30) days prior to the annual meeting.
 - B. Votes may be cast by members, not able to attend the annual meeting, by printed ballot provided such votes are received by the Secretary/Treasurer no later than seven (7) days prior to the annual meeting.
 - C. The immediate Past President shall automatically serve as Director (Exofficio).
- Section 3. The Regional Directors shall be elected by and from each region, at a regional caucus held at the annual meeting.
- VI. Committees: There shall be appointed by the President a Historian and the following standing committees: nominating, membership, program, auditing, public relations, local arrangements and legislative. The President may appoint Ad Hoc committees if deemed necessary.
- VII. Board of Directors: Board of Directors shall consist of the President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer, Historian, the four Directors, and the Director (Exofficio).
- VIII. Amendments: The constitution and By-Laws may be amended by a vote of two-thirds of those members present and voting at the annual meeting and/or by printed ballot, provided that the membership be notified in writing thirty (30) days prior to the annual meeting.
- IX. Dissolution: In the event of dissolution, the residual assets of the organization will be turned over to one or more organizations which themselves are exempt as organizations described in sections 501 (C) (3) and 170 (C) (2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or corresponding sections of any prior future Internal Revenue Code, or the Federal, State, or local government for exclusive public purpose.

X. Activities:

Notwithstanding any other provision of the articles, this corporation shall not carry on any other activities not permitted to be carried on by (A) a corporation exempt from Federal income tax under section 501 (C) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or the corresponding provision of any future United States Internal Revenue Law or (B) a corporation contributions to which are deductible under section 170 (C) (2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or any other corresponding provision of any future United States Internal Revenue Law.

By-Laws

1. For the purpose of electing directors, the state shall be divided into three (3) regions known as Upper, Middle, and Lower regions consisting of the following counties:

A.	Upper:	Anderson Oconee Greenville Pickens	Cherokee Spartanburg Union Chester	Lancaster York Abbeville Edgefield	Greenwood Laurens McCormick Saluda
В.	Middle:	Fairfield Richland Lexington Newberry Sumter	Orangeburg Bamberg Calhoun Chesterfield	Darlington Marlboro Dillon Florence	Marion Clarendon Kershaw Lee
C.	Lower:	Beaufort Colleton Hampton Williamsburg	Jasper Aiken Allendale	Barnwell Berkeley Charleston	Dorchester Georgetown Horry

2. There shall be at least one (1) Annual Meeting of the membership in the state for the purpose of electing officers and directors, disseminating information and other business.

Latest revision November 2007